Gartin Building Court Room Alcove
Uniform Criminal Rules Study Committee

Uniform Criminal Rules Study Committee

The Uniform Criminal Rules Study Committee was established by the Mississippi Supreme Court in 2004. The committee is conducting an extensive examination of rules which cover every aspect of criminal proceedings from arrest through post-trial motions. The objective is to have a comprehensive, uniform set of criminal rules of procedure that will be applicable to all criminal prosecutions across the state. The Study Committee is developing recommendations for a set of Rules of Criminal Procedure to govern practice and procedure in justice, municipal, county and circuit courts.

Co-chairs are Circuit Judge R.I. Prichard III of Picayune and Court of Appeals Judge Larry E. Roberts of Meridian.

Court of Appeals Judge L. Joseph Lee
Rankin County Court Judge Kent McDaniel
Forrest County Court Judge Michael W. McPhail
District Attorney Ronnie Harper of Natchez
District Attorney John R. Young of Corinth
Special Assistant Attorney General Ed Snyder
attorney Joe Sam Owen of Gulfport
attorney John M. Colette of Jackson
attorney Thomas E. Royals of Jackson
attorney Jim Lappan of the Mississippi Office of Capital Defense Counsel