Gartin Building Court Room Alcove
Justice Court Task Force

Justice Court Task Force

The 2007 Mississippi Legislature called for a Task Force to study the Justice Court system. The Task Force conducted extensive study and discussions of the Justice Court system and held nine public hearings between Sept. 6 and Oct. 8, 2007, in Tupelo, Senatobia, Kosciusko, Natchez, Jackson, Gulfport, Hattiesburg, Indianola and Meridian.

The Justice Court Task Force is no longer active. The Task Force concluded its work with the issuance of its report on Nov. 30, 2007. The report made recommendations with regard to qualifications, judicial training, elections, salaries, jurisdiction and discretion to limit jury trials.

Mississippi Supreme Court Justice Mike Randolph of Hattiesburg served as chairman of the Justice Court Task Force and Circuit Judge James T. Kitchens Jr. of Columbus was vice-chair.

Amite County Justice Court Judge Roger Arnold
Marshall County Justice Court Judge Ernest Cunningham
Webster County Justice Court Judge Jerry Jones
Carroll County Circuit Clerk Durward Stanton
Forrest County Circuit Clerk Lou Ellen Adams
Warren County Court Judge John S. Price Jr.
Copiah County Supervisor Perry Hood
Sen. Terry Burton, Newton
Sen. Charlie Ross, Brandon
Rep. Willie L. Bailey, Greenville
Rep. Thomas U. Reynolds II, Charleston