Gartin Building Court Room Alcove
Commission for Study of Domestic Abuse Proceedings

Commission for Study of Domestic Abuse Proceedings

The Mississippi Supreme Court, acting on a request from the Mississippi Attorney General, created the Commission for Study of Domestic Abuse Proceedings in an order signed May 21, 2008. The Commission’s purpose was to do a comprehensive study of statutes and rules relating to domestic violence issues and to identify and address needed changes. The Commission presented its report, containing 10 recommendations, to the Mississippi Supreme Court on Dec. 11, 2008. The Commission is no longer active.

Supreme Court Justice Ann H. Lamar of Senatobia and Special Assistant Attorney General Heather Wagner of Jackson were co-chairs of the 23-member commission.

Other Commission members
University of Mississippi School of Law Professor Deborah Bell
Mississippi College School of Law Professor Shirley Kennedy
Court of Appeals Judge Virginia Carlton of Columbia
Chancery Judges Margaret Alfonso of Gulfport, Jaye Bradley of Lucedale, and Cynthia Brewer of Madison County
Circuit Judges Margaret Carey-McCray of Greenville, Vernon Cotten of Carthage, and Kenneth Thomas of Cleveland
Justice Court Judge Deborah Gambrell of Hattiesburg
Municipal Judge John Shirley of Pearl
Gulfport Assistant City Prosecutor Martha Carson
Assistant District Attorney Kassie Ann Coleman of Hattiesburg
Hinds County Public Defender William LaBarre
Hinds County Assistant Public Defender Lynn Watkins
Mississippi Association of Chiefs of Police Executive Director Ken Winter of Oxford
Jackson attorney Brandi Brown of Catholic Charities
Mississippi Coalition Against Domestic Violence Executive Director Anna Walker Crump of Jackson
Sen. Gray Tollison of Oxford; Rep. Kimberly Campbell of Jackson
Mississippi Judicial College Director Cynthia Davis of Oxford